Digital Opportunities – Critical Reflection

Appropriation ˌprōprēˈāSHən| – the action of taking something for one’s own use, typically without the owner’s permission.

Sean Hillen – “When you cut up a photo, you take a whole world with you”

John Stezaker

Image

Mishka Henner

Image

Pavel Maria Smejkal

ImageImage

Algorithm |ˈalgəˌriT͟Həm| – a process or set of rules to be followed in calculations or other problem-solving operations, esp. by a computer: a basic algorithm for division.

Darcy DiNucci

Give a voice to your subject, empower them as storytellers Bring new understanding to an image or series of images Take the viewer on a journey, or narrative

Critical Reflection

I was very engaged with Mishka Henner’s photography before the lecture through the christmas task and his series ‘no mans land’, using images from google street view to show how in your face certain issues are. I really appreciate the Appropriation in Photography. I can see how some might think its the easy option to get appreciation in photography. But I think it does offer more to the medium; it is a skill to edit photographs and ‘bring a new understanding to an image’. I have considered using google maps for my assignment, but I think it wouldn’t really offer much new to my study about agriculture because I would prefer to focus on the portraits of farmers rather than the truth of their location, and so on.

Image

I did do a John Stezaker experiment for my art project 2/3 years ago because I did find it interesting, my photograph was with my images so it wasn’t an appropriation. The digital opportunities are growing for photographer, and they can really enhance the meaning of work, to act on previous artwork. Or even, to create art out of a normality. This lecture was interesting for me

Leave a Reply

