Rejected Images

While editing my many photographs I took throughout my project I was able to select a few that I thought reflected my project well. Some images, however good, or stimulating just wouldn’t work in my photobook because the colours and the connotations clashed far too much. I wanted to link two images based on their colour and their message. I initially wanted my project to be centred around portraiture, and a homage to farmers, so I start each page spread with a portrait of a farmer, or a portrait of an animal which speaks for the farm. I then link that portrait to an item from a farm, ie, a window or a box of eggs based on colour and connection to the farm and farmer. This way the viewer will see the personality and the warming presence of the farmer, with context about the farm that shows about the diversification and the skill that is linked to each farmer. So I had reject the images that I didn’t think worked in the same way.

Ass1 - Grattons (4) Ass1 - Black sheep (omlette) Ass1 - Black sheep (3) Ass1 - Black sheep (5) Ass1 - Black sheep (8)

I was happy with the animal shoots, they were all good images with a story behind them, but I felt like they weren’t offering anything that the viewer didn’t already know, they were just saying there are animals at these farms. Even though there was a story behind each image, many people wouldn’t be able to see past the cute face of a goat. The duck was a duck called omelette at Big Sheep Little Cow farm, it was originally sold as an egg to eat, but Carol put the egg in an incubator to see what would happen and a really aggressive duck came out that has to be kept away from children because of its extreme aggression.

Ass1 - Cedarbarn (2)  Ass1 - Berry'sAss1 - Berry's (1)

These shots revealed items sold by the farm shops. Even though they are nice images that show nicely what the farm shops sell, the colours didn’t work well in my sequence so I chose to reject them. It seems a bit uneducated to reject an image solely on colour, but I feel like the colour helps with the flow of the book and its an important tool for leading people through the pages.

Ass1 - Black sheep (9) IMG_7009

As much as I like both of these images, I don’t think they would work with the other image from inside a farm. My idea was to photograph from inside the farm outside the window to show the effect the farm has had through its diversification. I am considering using these images with a portrait of another animal to see whether it works in the book as an additional page, or whether the 1 image about this is enough. It would have been an interesting project to show these images as the project, without any addiction types of image, but I felt that its not necessarily showing farms positively in the appearance because they are incredibly dark. I think having bright and a lot warmer images tells more of story about the farms, and works better as a project.

Ass1 - Black sheep (2)

This is an incredibly striking image, but it really doesn’t offer much to my project. It is an interesting spectacle, and it can be used in assignment 2 to show the mill when Carol talks about the documentary that Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall produced. But it doesn’t work with my selection of images with its HDR looking tone.

Changes could still happen, but currently I’m happy with the selection of images I’ve produced.

 

 

Leave a Reply

