No Horses. // Documentary Short

For Assignment 2, I didn’t want to simply present my research in boring and dull way. I wanted to present it in a way that would be engaging, and I’d always settled to do it in the form of a documentary. I want a narrative to follow through the allotted time so there is a lot more interest for the viewer to engage with. The original cut was down to 11.31 minutes, which is 31seconds more than the allowed time, I will cut it down to 11.00 minutes, but I feel like that the extra seconds are needed because I’m happy with how its turned out. I have seen a lot of films in my time including documentary, and from watching films like ‘The Imposter’ and ‘The Act of Killing’, I’ve seen how documentary directors show those who they are interviewing. Interviewees are used to help the story, not become it, so they are used in my video without being asked a question, they are just used to back up points. I think if the interviews dragged on then it would be too dull, they have to be used in short bursts with b roll overlaying it so it keeps the viewer interested, and thats what I’ve done. Furthermore, in editing, I used some J-cuts so that the audio runs before the clip actually starts; this way the flow of the film continues at a fast pace, and keeps the viewer interested. I have used the information I gathered from my research displayed on previous blog posts. But the most important research for the video was found on my trip to Yorkshire. For some reason, the information I found online researching online didn’t have the same reality as the information I found from farmers in Yorkshire. Because I was there, I was more engaged, and I related to it more. I feel that I’ve presented the information well with my prior business knowledge, and knowledge that I’ve found from online articles. Here is an section from the film…

‘With the horse meat scandal that occurred, its made people think about where their food is coming from. This has made people distrust the large supermarkets. The horse meat scandal exposed that supermarkets do not trace where there food is coming from. Therefore, local farmers and retailers need to educate people in meat quality; with the effects bad meat would have on their health. Regardless of this, consumers are priced out of a return or introduction to good quality meat from farms and local retailers because of the economic climate. But maybe if they were educated a bit more about the positives of sourcing their food locally, then it will create a shift in spending. The way to live well is to eat well and exercise well and that’s the only way our bodies will keep at older ages, so the spending on food should really take a bigger priority in our spending.’

Jonny Bark, No Horses.

…Near the end, I gathered up the information to get the audience to see my opinion, and hopefully for them to accept and agree with it. For me, that was my purpose, I got heavily involved with this project, and got very passionate about it. I got annoyed with supermarkets because I saw who they were effecting. So I tailored my video around the farmers point of view because it needed to be heard. I haven’t really mentioned many benefits of the large supermarkets because I want to sell my points more. Clearly supermarkets are good employers, they do help employment in areas and they do offer the cheap solution to people, which is fair enough. But I think that people do need to be educated with the alternative and I’ll tell you why. Even though I am a student and I’m living on a student budget, after knowing about this information, I am not buying better quality meat because I’m educated in it now. There are people out there, who once they see this, they will find the money to invest in better meat (hopefully). My target audience was originally the middle aged, who have the money to spend on this quality food, but they find it more convenient to go to the supermarkets and get this unreliable produce. Even the younger generations would be educated by this project, so the the target audience can be larger. Thats not a decision of incompetence, thats strategic. A lot of people my age (18) that I have shown this video to have been interested by it, and will consider the alternative. However, lot of people would genuinely be priced out of it, but those who can afford it but choose not to out of convenience, regardless of age, might be swayed by this campaign / project.

Each shot was colour graded and some shots were distorted by the warp stabiliser. The audio was recorded by the reliable H1, and the video was shot with the Canon 5d mkii and the Canon 60d using a video tripod.

Interviews with:

Gavin Clarke – Brimham Lodge Farm

Jenny Rooke – Beadlam Grange

Carol Clarke – Big Sheep Little Cow

Bridget – Berry’s Farm Shop

Here is the video…

Leave a Reply

