Task 3 – Portrait photographs

I was toying with the idea of photographing the same person to show the awkwardness of photography before I came up with the idea discussed in the previous blog post, and here is the image from that shoot, lit purely by the snoot in more aesthetically pleasing angle. That idea has been done time and time again by photographers so it wouldn’t work particularly well for a unique project.

stephen

My final images gave a good sense of my idea of the bravery / coward like generalisation of self-portrait photography. The fashion image was self directed and self lit. The beauty dish was frontal with continuous lighting. I experimented with the strobe flash but I liked the way the light fell off to the bottom of the image. I wanted a fashion-like pose, but to also show a slight venerability with the melancholy stare into the distance. The light created shadows under the jawline that created some dimension to the face. I just wanted to show that it was a flattering image that someone would be proud to share.

task3 - 1-2

The more artistic image was lit with the snoot and beauty dish both on continuous light as well. The snoot was facing down and it was close to my head. This created harsh shadows and shinny skin. The orange gel I put on the light created a warm hue on the face that was an irregular skin tone that someone would correct in photoshop. The beauty dish created this circular light on the background with a light-green hue also created by using gels to make the lighting irregular and more interesting. As the photo was being taken I was having a conversation with someone of camera, this took my gaze away from the camera and looked vacantly to the right, showing a state of contemplation. The overall image is not something that you’d post happily onto a social-networking website. All the colouring is unattractive, as well as the expression and the skin tones / shadows. Both images comment exactly what I wanted about self-portrait photography and engage in this conversation about the truth and authenticity of portraiture.

unflattering-3

Leave a Reply

