Our Culture

twitter

We were asked to tweet about 10 photographs that symbolise the culture of the place where the images were captured. Images that really showed what the place is about. I genuinely enjoyed the task; it gave me the opportunity to reflect on what I saw. To use stereotypes and to go against them.

The narrative of the twitter feed engages people with short statements. It gives people the opportunity to interact with your content freely. This task allowed me to reflect on what others saw and become part of the conversation. I wanted to use my own images to express my experiences and opinions of England.

Typically Brits are (allegedly) tea drinkers who live in london chatting intelligently with their associates at afternoon tea. 2 Billion people globally saw the royal wedding and London attracted a record 4.9million tourists in the 2013 summer. So its not surprising how we are stereotyped so acutely. Through these images and statements I wanted to recognise these stereotypes, but also offer some alternatives

Leave a Reply

