Still life… Sudden realisation

After doing a lot of research about still life painting, and some still life photography, I felt like I understood the context for where my images would go. However, I have prepared and researched my photographs so rigorously that I have forgotten what is important for my project. Sunil Shah, photographer and curator advised me to photograph the objects as objects, and not in the presence of noise that would distract from the object. If I photograph the still life’s creatively with things in the background, then they will still have to match the portrait, otherwise the project will not seem coherent. After I talked to Sunil, I talked to Caroline and she agreed that it was the way forward and recommended Taryn Simon’s work.

Taryn Simon

‘The following 1,075 photographs were taken at both the U.S. Customs and Border Protection Federal Inspection Site and the U.S. Postal Service International Mail Facility at John F. Kennedy International Airport, New York. From November 16, 2009 through November 20, 2009, Taryn Simon remained on site at JFK and continuously photographed items detained or seized from passengers and express mail entering the United States from abroad.’

Simon, T (2009 )http://tarynsimon.com/works_contraband.php

taryn-simon-contraband-big

Simon’s photographs are so simplistic, the white background draws our focus onto the items to make the viewer consider them as objects. This focus gives our attention to the objects, and Simon shows the obscurity of them through allowing them to enter the frame. The simplicity works in this series and the same devices can be applied to my project. 

Photographing the items against a white background can show simplicity, but if I present them effectively, then they can form a structure on the white canvas. I can straighten the objects in the space to work together as one piece alongside the portraits.

This structure would be similar to the way that Jeffrey Milstein presents is photographs in his aircraft series. He photographs planes and structures them into a final composite, and thats what I hope to do with my 5 objects for each lecturer.

WEB12009-2011h

I’ll photograph the objects in this way and use them alongside my portrait photographs

Leave a Reply

