Picbod Preparatory Task

We were asked to make a portrait using only available light. In the photograph I wanted to show my anxieties of my university room. The window doesn’t have curtains, instead there are blinds that let in light during the night, giving the feeling of being monitored. Through my photograph I wanted to capture this light. I photographed with the main light source coming from the hall and me positioned at the end of the bed, looking scared.

3Q6A0033

The dark exposure of the image makes it look like an anxious situation. The cupboard door being left open does the same. I edited in a hand coming out of the cupboard to give this feeling, but on reflection it looks more like a gimmick.

The overall image conveys the message intended. The lighting and poses help the viewer understand it better.

Leave a Reply

